WWE wrestling – all you need to know


WWE wrestling is a form of sports entertainment that combines athletic performance, scripted drama, and spectacle. It traces its roots to the Capitol Wrestling Corporation (CWC), founded by Jess McMahon and Vincent J. McMahon in 1952. The CWC joined the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA), a network of regional promotions that recognized a common world champion1

In 1963, the CWC broke away from the NWA and renamed itself as the World Wide Wrestling Federation (WWWF). It crowned its own world champion, Buddy Rogers, who was soon replaced by Bruno Sammartino, who held the title for nearly eight years. The WWWF became popular in the Northeastern United States, especially in New York, where it held shows at Madison Square Garden1

In 1979, the WWWF shortened its name to the World Wrestling Federation (WWF) and expanded its territory across the country and abroad. It also introduced new stars, such as Hulk Hogan, Andre the Giant, Randy Savage, and Roddy Piper. The WWF reached new heights of popularity in the 1980s with the launch of WrestleMania, its annual flagship event, and its national TV shows on cable and network channels. The WWF also pioneered the use of celebrities, music, and merchandise to attract fans1

In the 1990s, the WWF faced competition from World Championship Wrestling (WCW), a rival promotion owned by Ted Turner. WCW lured away some of the WWF’s top talent, such as Hogan, Savage, and Kevin Nash, and created its own innovative concepts, such as Monday Nitro and the New World Order (NWO). The two companies engaged in a ratings war that became known as the Monday Night Wars1

The WWF responded by creating a new edgier and more realistic product, dubbed as the Attitude Era. It featured controversial characters, such as Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Triple H, and The Undertaker. The WWF also introduced new formats, such as Raw is War and SmackDown. The WWF eventually won the war by buying WCW in 2001 and absorbing its roster and assets1

In 2002, the WWF changed its name to World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) after losing a trademark dispute with the World Wildlife Fund. It also split its roster into two separate brands, Raw and SmackDown, each with its own championships and shows. The WWE continued to produce new stars, such as John Cena, Brock Lesnar, Batista, Randy Orton, and Edge. The WWE also acquired other wrestling companies, such as Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) and Total Nonstop Action (TNA)1

In 2014, the WWE launched the WWE Network, a streaming service that offers access to its live events and video library. It also created new developmental brands, such as NXT and NXT UK, to showcase its future talent. The WWE also embraced diversity and inclusion by promoting women’s wrestling and featuring performers from different backgrounds and countries. The WWE’s current champions are Roman Reigns (Universal Champion), Big E (WWE Champion), Charlotte Flair (Raw Women’s Champion), Becky Lynch (SmackDown Women’s Champion), Damian Priest (United States Champion), Shinsuke Nakamura (Intercontinental Champion), RK-Bro (Raw Tag Team Champions), The Usos (SmackDown Tag Team Champions), Rhea Ripley & Nikki A.S.H. (Women’s Tag Team Champions), Reggie (24/7 Champion), Karrion Kross (NXT Champion), Raquel Gonzalez (NXT Women’s Champion), Tommaso Ciampa & Timothy Thatcher (NXT Tag Team Champions), Mandy Rose & Gigi Dolin & Jacy Jayne (NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions), Carmelo Hayes (NXT North American Champion), Roderick Strong (NXT Cruiserweight Champion), Ilja Dragunov (NXT UK Champion), Meiko Satomura (NXT UK Women’s Champion), Pretty Deadly (NXT UK Tag Team Champions), A-Kid (NXT UK Heritage Cup Champion)

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this