Kenya’s Baldev Chager comes second as Italian Eugenio Amos wins 2023 East African Safari Classic Rally


After an intense nine days of competition, the 2023 East African Safari Classic Rally (EASCR) concluded, with Italians Eugenio Amos and navigator Paolo Ceci declared champions.

Driving a Tuthill Porsche 911 speedster, Amos completed the 4,000km race in 14 hours, 42 minutes, and 35.2 seconds, securing victory with a lead of 10 minutes and 45 seconds.

The crowning ceremony took place at the Diani Golf Course in Ukunda on Monday afternoon.

Baldev Chager, last year’s champion from Kenya, partnered with Gareth Dawe in a Porsche 911, finished second with a time of 14:53:20.2.

The 2019 champion, Kris Rosenberger of Austria, and his German wife Nicola Bleicher, took third place in their Tuthill Porsche 911, completing the race in 15:11:40.2.

Kenyan Bonamy Grimes and navigator Martin Rowe, in another Tuthill Porsche 911, secured fourth place in 15:32:56.3. Ian Duncan, co-driven by Jaspal Matharu, broke the Porsche dominance, finishing fifth with a time of 16:12:10.4.

Out of the 63 drivers who started on December 8, only 51 successfully reached the finish line in Diani. Reflecting on the victory, Amos expressed disbelief and gratitude for the competition, emphasizing the challenges faced during the race.

Chager acknowledged the unique difficulties of this year’s rally and praised Amos as an impressive competitor. Rosenberger, pleased with his podium finish after a challenging previous year, highlighted the numerous obstacles faced in the competition.

2023 East African Safari Classic Rally Results

1. Eugenio Amos/Paolo Ceci 14:42:35.2

2. Baldev Chager/Gareth Dawe 14:53:20.2

3. Kris Rosenberger/ Nicola Bleicher 15:11:40.2

4. Bonamy Grimes/ Martin Rowe 15:32:56.3

5. Ian Duncan /Jaspal Matharu 16: 12.10.4

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this