Nigeria’s Africa Cup of Nations aspirations soar high ahead of historic 20th appearance


Nigeria, with a rich football history marked by three championship victories, is gearing up for its 20th participation in the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations.

Renowned for their prowess, the Super Eagles are poised to make a formidable impact in Côte d’Ivoire, boasting an impressive offensive lineup featuring talents like Victor Boniface, Terem Moffi, Moses Simon, and the prolific Victor Osimhen.

In Group A, Nigeria’s fixtures are scheduled as follows:

  • 14th January 2024: Nigeria vs. Equatorial Guinea at 2:00 p.m. GMT, Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Ebimpé
  • 18th January 2024: Ivory Coast vs. Nigeria at 4:00 p.m. GMT, Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Ebimpé
  • 22nd January 2024: Guinea-Bissau vs. Nigeria at 5:00 p.m. GMT, Stade Félix-Houphouët-Boigny, Abidjan

In the qualifiers, the Super Eagles dominated Group A, securing 15 points and finishing ahead of Guinea Bissau, the only team to defeat Nigeria during this phase.

The player to watch is undoubtedly Victor Osimhen, the top scorer in the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023 qualifiers with an impressive 10 goals.

Recently named the best male footballer at the CAF Awards, Osimhen, a Lagos native, embarks on his third AFCON campaign, terming it the tournament of maturity.

Known for his exceptional speed, the striker’s distinctive playing style and clinical finishing have shone in the Italian championship.

Guiding the Super Eagles is Portuguese tactician Jose Peseiro, who took charge of the team in 2022.

With a UEFA Cup finalist pedigree and a pragmatic approach, Peseiro advocates possession-based football with an offensive objective, aligning well with the dynamic style embraced by his squad.

Nigeria’s AFCON Achievements

1976: Bronze Medalist

1978: Bronze Medalist

1980: Winner

1984: Finalist

1988: Finalist

1990: Finalist

1992: Bronze Medalist

1994: Winner

2000: Finalist

2002: Bronze Medalist

2004: Bronze Medalist

2010: Bronze Medalist

2013: Winner

2019: Bronze Medalist

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this