AFCON 2023 Awards: A celebration of football excellence and sportsmanship


The 34th edition of the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations concluded in grandeur at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium, with Cote d’Ivoire clinching their third TotalEnergies CAF AFCON title in a dramatic final against Nigeria.

The tournament, known for showcasing Africa’s finest football talents, lived up to its reputation, culminating in a thrilling final match where Cote d’Ivoire emerged victorious, coming from behind to defeat Nigeria.

In the aftermath of the final whistle, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) recognized the standout performers who left an indelible mark on the competition.

Simon Adingra, the 22-year-old Ivorian who provided the crucial assists in the final, was awarded the TotalEnergies Man of the Match, a testament to his decisive contributions in the most pivotal game of the tournament.

Although Nigeria fell short in the final, their captain William Troost-Ekong was honored with the TotalEnergies Best Player award, highlighting his exceptional leadership and performances throughout the tournament.

Equatorial Guinea’s Emilio Nsue Lopez claimed the PUMA Golden Boot award for his five goals, leading the goal-scoring charts and showcasing his lethal finishing abilities.

South Africa’s Ronwen Williams was named the Ecobank Best Goalkeeper, a recognition of his extraordinary performances between the posts, including a record four penalty saves against Cape Verde. His efforts were instrumental in South Africa securing the bronze medal and the Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair Play Team award, underscoring their commendable conduct and sportsmanship.

The ceremony was graced by football royalty, including Togolese legend Emmanuel Adebayor, Cote d’Ivoire President Alassane Ouattara, CAF President Dr. Patrice Motsepe, and FIFA President Gianni Infantino, who presented the winner’s trophy to Cote d’Ivoire captain Max Gradel.

The event also marked the official handover of the CAF Flag to the Royal Moroccan Federation, signaling the transition of hosting rights for the next edition, promising another chapter of breathtaking African football.

Below is the complete winners list for the CAN CAF TotalEnergies, Cote d’Ivoire 2023:

Winner: Cote d’Ivoire

Second: Nigeria

Third: South Africa

Fourth: Democratic Republic of Congo

TotalEnergies Best Player: William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)

Puma Golden Boot: Emilio Nsue Lopez

Ecobank Best Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (South Africa)

Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair-Play Team: South Africa

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this