Kenyans Obiri and Chebet aim for historic wins at the Boston Marathon


In the historic city of Boston, reigning champions Hellen Obiri and Evans Chebet from Kenya are preparing to defend their titles against a highly competitive field at the esteemed Boston Marathon.

Scheduled for Monday, this World Athletics Platinum Label road race promises an electrifying showcase of endurance and strategy.

Hellen Obiri, who made a spectacular marathon debut in New York in 2022 with a time of 2:25:49, quickly established herself as a formidable marathoner by winning the 2023 Boston Marathon in 2:21:38, and later triumphing in New York at the end of the year.

With a successful start to 2023, finishing second at the Houston Half Marathon, Obiri is determined to clinch her third consecutive marathon victory in Boston.

The women’s field is brimming with talent, particularly from Ethiopia. Tadu Teshome and Hiwot Gebrekidan, both boasting personal bests under 2:18 from their performances in Valencia, pose a serious threat.

Other notable competitors include Senbere Teferi, a 2015 world 5000m silver medalist, and Ababel Yeshaneh, who has previously reached the podium in Boston, New York, and Chicago.

The race will also feature former Boston champions such as Edna Kiplagat, a two-time winner, Caroline Rotich from 2015, and 2018 victor Desiree Linden.

Kiplagat, aiming for her seventh Boston appearance, finished seventh in last year’s New York Marathon, proving her enduring prowess at the age of 44.

The international contingent is further strengthened by Judith Korir of Kenya, 2022 world marathon silver medalist, and Morocco’s surprise bronze medalist Fatima Gardadi, marking her debut in a World Marathon Majors race.

On the men’s side, Evans Chebet is eyeing a historic achievement; no man has won three consecutive Boston Marathon titles since Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot in 2008.

Chebet, who has claimed victory in six of his last seven marathons, will face stiff competition from Ethiopia’s Sisay Lemma, the fastest in the field with a 2:01:48 victory in Valencia last December.

Tanzania’s Gabriel Geay, who finished runner-up last year, also returns with aspirations to topple the defending champion.

His personal best, an impressive 2:03:00 set in Valencia, matches that of Chebet, setting the stage for a potentially tight race.

Other formidable competitors include Kenya’s Cyprian Kotut, a former Paris Marathon winner with a best of 2:04:34, and Ethiopia’s duo of Haftu Teklu and Shura Kitata, both boasting times just under 2:05.

Albert Korir of Kenya, winner of the New York Marathon in 2021, also seeks to add a Boston victory to his resume.

Adding to the global mix are Japan’s former record-holder Suguru Osako, Norwegian record-holder Sondre Moen, and Morocco’s Zouhair Talbi, who recently set a course record at this year’s Houston Marathon.

With such a deep and diverse field, the 2024 Boston Marathon not only highlights the sheer talent and determination of its athletes but also sets the stage for potentially record-breaking performances and dramatic finishes.

As runners from around the globe converge on Boston’s hallowed pavement, the world will be watching to see who can endure the demanding course and emerge victorious in one of marathon running’s most storied races.

Elite fields

Tadu Teshome (ETH) 2:17:36
Hiwot Gebrekidan (ETH) 2:17:59
Judith Korir (KEN) 2:18:20
Meseret Belete (ETH) 2:18:21
Tiruye Mesfin (ETH) 2:18:47
Worknesh Edesa (ETH) 2:18:51
Senbere Teferi (ETH) 2:19:21
Dera Dida (ETH) 2:19:24
Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:19:50
Mary Ngugi-Cooper (KEN) 2:20:22
Sara Hall (USA) 2:20:32
Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) 2:20:51
Vibian Chepkirui (KEN) 2:20:59
Siranesh Yirga (ETH) 2:21:08
Helah Kiprop (KEN) 2:21:27
Buze Diriba (ETH) 2:23:11
Emma Bates (USA) 2:23:18
Caroline Rotich (USA) 2:23:22
Sharon Lokedi (KEN) 2:23:23
Fatima Gardadi (MAR) 2:24:12
Angie Orjuela (COL) 2:25:35
Fabienne Konigstein (GER) 2:25:48
Hellen Obiri (KEN) 2:25:49
Desiree Linden (USA) 2:25:55
Dominique Scott (RSA) 2:27:31
Jenny Simpson (USA) n/a

Sisay Lemma (ETH) 2:01:48
Evans Chebet (KEN) 2:03:00
Gabriel Geay (TAN) 2:03:00
Cyprian Kotut (KEN) 2:04:34
Haftu Teklu (ETH) 2:04:43
Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:04:49
John Korir (KEN) 2:05:01
Mohamed Esa (ETH) 2:05:05
Suguru Osako (JPN) 2:05:29
Sondre Moen (NOR) 2:05:48
Zouhair Talbi (MAR) 2:06:39
Isaac Mpofu (ZIM) 2:06:48
Albert Korir (KEN) 2:06:57
Kento Otsu (JPN) 2:08:15
Ryoma Takeuchi (JPN) 2:08:40
Sam Chelanga (USA) 2:08:50
Segundo Jami (ECU) 2:09:05
Tsegay Tuemay (ERI) 2:09:07
Matt McDonald (USA) 2:09:49
Elkanah Kibet (USA) 2:10:02
CJ Albertson (USA) 2:10:04
David Nilsson (SWE) 2:10:09
Tristan Woodfine (CAN) 2:10:39
Yemane Haileselassie (ERI) debut

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this