Kenya Shujaa, Uganda Lady Cranes win 2023 Safari Sevens


Kenya Shujaa on Sunday were crowned the 2023 Safari Sevens champions after seeing off Samurai Sevens 19-0 in an entertaining final played at RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi.

Patrick Odongo scored two tries to inspire Shujaa to victory as Kenya retained the Safari Sevens title.

Odongo gave Kenya a dream start after touching down the opening try of the game in the opening third minute, a try that was converted by Anthony Omondi to give Shujaa a 7-0 half time lead.

In the second half, Kevin Wekesa stretched the scores to 12-0 after scoring an unconverted try before Odongo sealed the win two minutes from the hooter.

Uganda Cranes finished third after edging out 2021 finalists Germany 31-5 to win bronze while Kenya Morans finished fifth after a 26-0 win over KCB.

Red Wailers won the Challenge Cup after a 24-10 win over Tropic Sevens in the seventh place final playoffs. South Africa All Stars were ninth after completing a 28-21 win over Western Province.

In the women’s category, Uganda Lady Cranes dethroned Kenya after stunning the Lionesses 15-12 in the final. 

Kenya Cubs won bronze after a 31-7 win over Tropic Cubs.

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this