CAF Awards 2023: Shortlists of women’s categories announced


CAF has unveiled the shortlisted candidates for the women’s categories in the upcoming CAF Awards 2023.

The Player of the Year category boasts ten remaining contenders vying for the prestigious individual accolade, while other categories such as Interclub Player of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year feature five nominees each.

The final winners in each category will be determined through votes from a panel comprising members of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations, and clubs that participated in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The Awards Gala is scheduled to take place on Monday, December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, in Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

1.       Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)

2.       Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)

3.       Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4.       Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5.       Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

6.       Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

7.       Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

8.       Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)

9.       Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

10.    Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

1.       Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)

2.       Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

3.       Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

4.       Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

5.       Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

1.       Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

2.       Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

3.       Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4.       Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5.       Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

 Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

1.       Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

2.       Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

3.       Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)

4.       Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)

5.       Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

1.       Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)

2.       Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

3.       Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)

4.       Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

5.       Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

1.       Morocco

2.       Nigeria

3.       Senegal

4.       South Africa

5.       Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

1.       Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

2.       AS FAR (Morocco)

3.       SC Casablanca (Morocco)

4.       Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

5.       JKT Queens (Tanzania)

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this