CAF Awards 2023: Everything you should know


Prepare for a spectacle of opulence as the CAF Awards 2023 is poised to grace the Palais des Congrès in Marrakech, Morocco on Monday.

The regal fusion of black and gold will drape Africa’s most prestigious sporting awards, symbolizing elegance, power, royalty, and triumph in a celebration of the continent’s athletic excellence.

Nestled against the foothills of the renowned Atlas Mountains, Marrakech, adorned with its signature red clay walls, serves as the captivating backdrop for the CAF Awards 2023.

Beyond its scenic allure, the city tells a tale of unwavering resilience, with its people displaying a never-give-up spirit following a tragic earthquake in September that claimed nearly 3,000 lives.

As Marrakech takes center stage for this year’s celebration of African talent, it welcomes the world with open arms and a warm embrace. The city, known for its hospitality, becomes a beacon of camaraderie, ready to honor the crème de la crème of African football in a grand display of unity and shared passion.

The CAF Awards 2023 will be broadcast live across the world with the national broadcasters in Algeria (EPTv), Côte d’Ivoire (RTI), Ghana (GBC), Morocco (Arryadia), Rwanda (RBA), South Africa (SABC) and Uganda (UBC) as well as OnTime Sport in Egypt.  

New World TV will have the Free to Air and Pay TV rights in Togo as well as BeIN Sport that will be the go-to channel in Asia, Europe, Middle East and North Africa as well as in the USA. 

Canal+ has the rights for the CAF Awards 2023 in France and Francophone Africa. 

List of former winners in years past

As we look ahead at the CAF Awards 2023 on Monday, here is a list of past winners that were recognized for their excellence on the pitch and have since become an inspiration in their countries, on the continent and across the world. 

Women’s Player of the Year

2001 Mercy Akide (Nigeria)

2002 Alberta Sackey (Ghana)

2003 Adjoa Bayor (Ghana)

2004 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2005 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2006 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2007 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2008 Noko Matlou (South Africa)

2009 Not awarded

2010 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2011 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2012 Genoveva Anonmam (Equatorial Guinea)

2013 Not awarded

2014 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2015 Gaëlle Enganamouit (Cameroon)

2016 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2017 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2018 Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

2019 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2020 Not awarded due to COVID-19 

2021 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2022 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Men’s Player of the Year 

1992 Abedi Ayew Pele (Ghana)

1993 Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria)

1994 Emmanuel Amunike (Nigeria)

1995 George Weah (Liberia)

1996 Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)

1997 Victor Ikpeba (Nigeria)

1998 Mustapha Hadji (Morocco)

1999 Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)

2000 Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

2001 El-Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2002 El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2003 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

2004 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

2005 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

2006 Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)

2007 Frederic Kanoute (Mali)

2008 Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)

2009 Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)

2010 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

2011 Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

2012 Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

2013 Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

2014 Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

2015 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2016 Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)

2017 Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

2018 Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

2019 Sadio Mane (Senegal)

2020 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2021 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2022 Sadio Mane (Senegal)

Men’s Football Coach of the Year

2000 Cecil Jones Attuquayefio (Ghana)

2001 Bruno Metsu (France)

2002 Bruno Metsua (France)

2003 Kadiri Ikhana (Nigeria)

2004 Okey Emordi (Nigeria)

2005 Stephen Keshi (Nigeria)

2006 Manuel José (Portugal)

2007 Yemi Tella (Nigeria)

2008 Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

2009 Sellas Tetteh (Ghana)

2010 Milovan Rajevac (Serbia)

2011 Harouna Doula Gabde (Niger)

2012 Hervé Renard (France)

2013 Stephen Keshi (Nigeria)

2014 Kheïreddine Madoui (Algeria)

2015 Hervé Renard (France)

2016 Pitso Mosimane (South Africa)

2017 Héctor Cúper (Argentina)

2018 Hervé Renard (France)

2019 Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

2020 Non attribué en raison de COVID-19 

2021 Non attribué en raison de COVID-19

2022 Aliou Cissé (Senegal)

Women’s Football Coach of the Year

2018 Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

2019 Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Best Young Player of the Year

2015 Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

2016 Alex Iwobi (Nigeria)

2017 Patson Daka (Zambia)

2018 Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

2019 Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal)

Best Young Player of the Year (Woman)

2014 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2015 NA 

2016 NA 

2017 NA 

2018 NA 

2019 NA 

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Evelyn Badu (Ghana)

Best Local Player

2003 Dramane Traoré (Mali)

2004 Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

2005 Mohamed Barakat (Egypt)

2006 Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)

2007 Amine Chermiti (Tunisia)

2008 Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)

2009 Trésor Mputu (DR Congo)

2010 Ahmed Hassan (Egypt)

2011 Oussama Darragi (Tunisia)

2012 Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)

2013 Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)

2014 Firmin Mubele (DR Congo)

2015 Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania)

2016 Denis Onyango (Uganda)

2017 NA 

2018 NA 

2019 Youcef Belaïli (Algeria)

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Mohamed El-Shenawy (Egypt)

Best Local Player (Woman)

2022 Evelyn Badu (Ghana)

Goalkeeper of the Year

2001 Essam El-Hadary (Egypt)

2002 Tony Sylva (Senegal)

2003 Idriss Kameni (Cameroon)

2004 Ali Boumnijel (Tunisia)

2005 Tony Sylva (Senegal)

2006  Essam El-Hadary (Egypt)

2007  Essam El-Hadary (Egypt)

2008  Essam El-Hadary (Egypt)

National Team of  the Year (Men)

2010 Ghana

2011 Botswana

2012 Zambie

2013 Nigeria

2014 Algeria

2015 Côte d’Ivoire

2016 Uganda

2017 Egypt

2018 Mauritania

2019 Algeria

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Sengal

National Team of the Year (Women)

2010 Nigeria 

2011 Cameroon

2012 Equatorial Guinea

2013 NA

2014 Nigeria

2015 Cameroon

2016 Nigeria

2017 South Africa

2018 Nigeria

2019 Cameroon

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 South Africa

Club of the Year (Men)

2001 Kaizer Chiefs 

2002 Zamalek

2003 Enyimba 

2004 Enyimba

2005 Al Ahly

2006 Al Ahly

2007 Étoile du Sahel

2008 Al Ahly

2009 TP Mazembe

2010 TP Mazembe

2011 ES Tunis

2012 Al Ahly

2013 Al Ahly

2014 ES Sétif

2015 TP Mazembe 

2016 Mamelodi Sundowns

2017 Wydad Casablanca

2018 NA

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Wydad Casablanca

Club of the Year (Women)

2022 Mamelodi Sundowns

Goal of the Year

2001 Zoubier Baya (Tunisia)

2002 Pape Bouba Diop (Senegal)

2003 Lesley Manyathela (South Africa)

2004 Benni MacCarth (South Africa)

2018 Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

2019 Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)

2020 NA due to COVID-19 

2021 NA due to COVID-19

2022 Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal)

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this