Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies, Al Ahly crowned Club of the Year at CAF awards


Reigning men and women’s champions of the TotalEnergies CAF Champions League, Al Ahly of Egypt and South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies were awarded the Club of the Year award at Monday’s CAF Awards 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.

The two clubs have been impressive throughout the year where they merged top at the continental premier competition.

Al Ahly

Following their historic 11th CAF Champions League title, Africa’s most successful football team was duly rewarded by CAF for their ongoing excellence in raising the standard of African football. They were also crowned champions of the Egyptian Premier League and Egyptian Cup.

Al Ahly last took home the trophy in 2013, which was precisely ten years ago.

Al Ahly win mens club of the year during the 2023 CAF Awards held in Marrakech, Morocco on 11 December 2023©Nour Aknajja/BackpagePix

With this year’s victory, the Egyptian giants have now won the CAF Club of the Year award six times in a row, maintaining their record as the club with the most such awards.

Ahly’s honor is given in conjunction with Percy Tau’s recognition as the CAF Interclub Player of the Year.

Sundowns Ladies

The newly crowned African champions kept the title they won at last year’s awards because they were outstanding between December 2022 and November 2023.

The three titles won by the two-time African champions were highlighted by the CAF Women’s Champions League, which came about after the COSAFA Women’s Champions League title and, most recently, the South Africans’ at-home league championship.

Following their nomination as one of Africa’s best women’s football clubs, which also included AS Far and Sporting Casablanca of Morocco, they win the CAF Women’s Club of the Year award consecutively.

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this