Nigerian strikers Osimhen and Oshoala win 2023 African player of the year awards


The largest individual honors were taken home by Nigerians Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala on Monday night at the CAF Awards 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.

Oshoala, a fellow Nigerian, won her record-breaking sixth CAF African Women’s Player of the Year, while Osimhen, the striker who made headlines in Italy and for his contributions in the Super Eagles jersey, won the CAF African Player of the Year award for the first time.

During his incredible journey, Osimhen had to overcome fierce opposition from Egyptian striker Mohammed Salah and Moroccan full-back Achraf Hakimi.

For a record-tying sixth time, Nigerian legend Oshoala won the CAF Women’s Player of the Year award. The attacker, who ended as the team’s top scorer with 27 goals in all competitions, continued to dominate as she led Barcelona to Champions League glory.

Walid Regragui of Morocco won the Men’s category CAF’s Best Coach of the Year award, having led the Atlas Lions to a historic World Cup semifinal run in Qatar.

Desiree Ellis of South Africa won the women’s category Best Coach award for her exceptional work with Banyana Banyana. Ellis has won consistently in this category since 2018, and this was her record-breaking fourth award in that category.

Percy Tau of Al Ahly and South Africa won the CAF InterClub Player of the Year award. Lamine Camara,19,for FC Metz in Senegal, won the CAF Young Player of the Year title, launching his ascent to prominence in African football. The inaugural CAF Women’s Young Player of the Year award went to Moroccan prodigy Nesryne El Chad.

Following their success at the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022, Morocco was named the Men’s National Team winner; Nigeria was named the Women’s National Team of the Year winner. The Male Club of the Year award went to Al Ahly of Egypt, while Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa won the women’s division.

In the women’s category, South Africa topped the continent’s Best XI players, while two players from Morocco’s World Cup semifinal squad were in the men’s division.

Full List of Award Winners: 

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

We are Africa’s number one online sports community created by true fans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this